MUNGU HANA MAPUNGUFU SIFA YAKE NI UTUKUFU

I am so excited for this post because it combines two of my favorite subjects: kangas and New Orelans. Today is Mardi Gras in New Orleans and I posting a kanga that I like to call the “Mardi Gras Kanga.” The colors for the New Orleans Mardi Gras are purple, gold and green – just like the colors in this kanga! And the symbol of New Orleans is the fleur-de-lis, which is pictured in the border of this kanga. Now the saying is not directly related to Mardi Gras as far as I can tell. But Mardi Gras has roots in the religious holiday of Ash Wednesday and the saying is about God. Of course most kangas have sayings about God.. So is all of this a coincidence? I don’t know, but whether the connection is intended or not, I will always love this kanga for reminding me of one of my favorite cities.

mardi gras kanga

I received the Mardi Gras kanga on my visit to Nida Textiles in Dar es Salaam in 2015.

IMG_0517

English Translation: God has no limitations, his reputation is glory

IMG_0515

Fleur-de-lis

 

