Bila maneno – a kanga with no words?

Bene bought this kanga at the Central Market in Moshi, Tanzania. As with all kangas, it came in a pair. The material has the same texture as a kanga “nzito” and the design is printed in a way that is similar to many other kangas. BUT, there is no message. AND there is no border. This is different from any other kanga I have seen and does not meet the definition of a kanga, as I understand it. But take a look,

The kanga without a border or a message. Is it still a kanga?

The kanga without a border or a message. Is it still a kanga?

As with all other kangas I have seen, this one has the manufacturing company, location and design number printed at the bottom. It clearly reads “KHANGA”

So was this kanga a special edition? Or perhaps part of a new trend? I have read on the internet that Urafiki, the company that manufactured this kanga, closed down in the early part of 2012.  I am not sure if any other companies have started making this type of kanga. I will have to investigate further and report again.

